Governing Committee

Governing Committee

The Governing Committee of The Croft Preparatory School is a body of volunteers who set the aims and objectives of the school and agree, monitor and review policies, targets and priorities. The Committee provides strategic leadership, support and challenge to the school, and is accountable for its decisions to The Board of Directors. Its key responsibilities are to oversee the provision of a high quality education, to monitor the performance of the school whilst supporting the work of the Headmaster and his team.

The Governing Committee of The Croft Preparatory School has 11 members consisting of 1 Proprietor Governor, 1 Parent Governor, 1 Staff Governor and 8 Community Governors from a range of backgrounds:

Vanessa Aris is a retired Science Teacher with over 30 years’ experience and is Chair of Governors at two Primary Schools in Gloucestershire. In all, Vanessa has been a Governor in 8 schools (repeatedly as Chair or Vice Chair) and has worked with Local Authorities on issues of Governance. She was awarded the MBE in 2000 for services to Education. Vanessa is Chairman of the Governing Committee.

Jane Russ is a former Teacher with a passion for the Arts. An arts and crafts specialist and musician, Jane has also worked in publishing and currently works within the NHS. Jane is Vice Chair of the Governing Committee.

Peter Lee-Smith is a retired Prep School Headmaster and former Reporting Inspector for ISI. Peter has worked as an Education Consultant since retiring and was also the Mentor Co-ordinator at IAPS.

Professor Paul Harrison is a Professor of Physics at Warwick University. A professional educator, with over 25 years' experience, Paul has a passion for education and a wealth of management experience. Paul’s son attended The Croft.

Anne Freer is currently the Head Teacher of a small village First School in Worcestershire. She has been in teaching since 1979 and has lots of education experience after working in three different authorities, six different schools and having been a teacher governor for many years.

Catherine Leaver is our elected Parent Governor. Mum to four Croft pupils, Catherine enjoys volunteering as a Parent Reader. A fully qualified Chartered Surveyor, Catherine has previously worked in property investment.

John Whitting QC is a highly respected barrister with a wealth of experience of independent education. His daughter, Lara, attends The Croft, whilst his older children have been at four different Prep schools. As a QC, John is well qualified to ask difficult questions if required.

Robert Vaudry is a local Councillor, businessman and former parent of The Croft. With a background in finance, Robert sits on a number of Boards and Committees and has a passion for supporting local communities and businesses.

Sam Thornton is Business Operations Director of The Croft and is also Curator of the Geology and Model Train Museums. Before joining the family business, he lived and worked in Australia where he worked at Melbourne Girls’ Grammar as Director of Education.

Yvonne Hopkins is our elected Staff Governor who teaches Design Technology, Games and is the School's Matron.  She joined The Croft in 1987.

Marcus Cook was appointed Headmaster of The Croft in 2013. A former professional rugby player, Marcus was promoted from his role as Director of Studies to Deputy Headmaster at The Croft before securing his first Headship. Marcus is an ex-officio Governor.

The Governors may be contacted via the Clerk on: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Croft Preparatory School
Alveston Hill
Loxley Road

CV37 7RL

© 2015 - 2017 Croft Preparatory School. v17.0317